Our report card

Student reviews from sites you trust.


The #1 Rated Coding Bootcamp by Course Report
Best Online School
Best Instructors

Best Job Placement
Best Curriculum
Read the report
reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by JP

October 27th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I'm currently a student in Thinkful's full-time web development bootcamp. It has been everything I expected and more.

-The course teaches full stack javascript (the MERN stack), with an optional angular course.

-I'm learning a lot, but it's not overwhelming.

-The curriculum is clear and easy to digest.

-The aim is be employment ready by graduation. Guidance is provided throughout the course to achieve this.

-The people are awesome, from the admin folks to the instructors, TAs, mentors, and fellow students.



This is a community to join if you are serious about becoming a web developer. You learn cutting edge technology, get comfortable learing new frameworks, and have super-knowledge faculty (one of which I think of as the jedi of programming).

One final thing- if you are not familiar with the benefits of full stack javascript, check out the benefits: http://thefullstack.xyz/full-stack-javascript-developer/

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Camillo

October 18th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

Being enrolled for almost one month at Thinkful Flexible Web Development bootcamp, and so far, I can say that I had the greatest (and toughest) learning experience in my life!

The dream to dig into the "Coding_World" finally came true, and the reason I chose to enrol at Thinkful was for the great Curriculum they offer on the Web Development bootcamp; looking at the "real World" requirements, I believe their Curriculum is a great match.

The learning-path has been fantastic, in one month I went from a novice level to feel completely comfortable in subject such as HTML/CSS/Git/JavaScript (working on it)....said that, the path itself is not an easy one, it requires quite a lot of dedication, passion, curiosity...not everything is "given" lots of resources have to be found from the student, and as much it may seem "difficult", it is a great learning skill that will be easily (and for sure) applied in a working-environment...bottom line, skills like problem-solving, or going the "extra-mile" are extremely appreciated by potential employer.

Speaking about the learning path, I found extremely useful interact (3x week) with my mentor (Akiva) ... I think the mentor is the greatest integration to the material, being able to give direction, to highlight concepts in a different way, and to advice on the points where to focus.

In conclusion, I am really happy about my experience at Thinkful; I feel that the hard coding-hours have being rewarded with learning results....solving and understanding hard-topics, build confidence...and confidence gives energy to learn more and more. Bottom line, my Program Manager told me the first day "...do not be afraid of hard moment, think at how is rewarding solving them!..." - I completely agree.

Main reasons for my great experience at Thinkful:

- Curriculum

- Mentorship

- Projects

- feeling to be ready for a "real" Working environment.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Katie

October 5th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I cannot recommend Thinkful highly enough. From Noel who answered all my questions as I was comparing bootcamps to Derek who took me through the orientation session and my mentor Eric who has been a huge help answering my unending questions, I can't imagine having a better experience so far.I initially started learning to code on my own, and liked it so much I knew I wanted to make it into a full time career. Thinkful was miles ahead of the competition because they contacted me directly within minutes of submitting the interest form, and they always reached out to me to see how the decision process was going. It was a personal, welcoming experience from the very start and everyone I spoke with was passionate about helping a noob coder find their way.The curriculum is great. It's well written and the assignments/projects are practical, useful and sometimes humorous which really helps keep things interesting. The goals are realistic as is the usage of the knowledge gained. The minimum amount of hours necessary to complete the bootcamp is very doable as I work full time and never struggle to make time for the course.My mentor has been fantastic as well. It's easy to get frustrated when you hit a roadblock but having your mentor there to guide you is invaluable. They've faced the same challenges and can bring a new perspective to your struggle, or give you an explanation of your mistake so you never make the same mistake twice. Hearing from an experienced web developer how the knowledge from the curriculum applies to their every day life is a huge bonus. The frequent Q&A sessions are also very useful - there is no lack of resources with Thinkful.I haven't reached the career part, so I can't give that a review yet. However, I have already had a meeting with a member of the Career Services team who gave me tons of resources to look at to narrow down where I'd like to work/what I'm looking for. I'm fully confident that when the curriculum is complete, I'll achieve my goals with the help of the Thinkful team.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Jason

October 5th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I have been doing the Thinkful Flexible Web Development bootcamp for 3 weeks now, and I am very pleased. Their curriculum is really good and my mentor Chris is very helpful. With so many web technologies to learn it can get overwhelming to set a path to choose the best ones and learn them in the right order, but Thinkful has figured it out. I highly recommend Thinkful to anyone who wants to become a wed developer.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Vic

October 4th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I would highly recommend Thinkful's Flexible Web Development Bootcamp for the following reasons: 1. The flexible schedule works extremely well for me. I work 30 hours a week and  have a family to take of. It would be really difficult to keep up with a full-time or even part-time boot camp. I put in about 15 hours a week and so far it has been a very fulfilling learning experience. 2. Since the day I started, Thinkful's staff members have been in constant communication with me. I don't always have to initiate to get a response, which is a really nice change from traditional education institutions. 3. My mentor is extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and flexible with his time as well. He understands that I have other commitments outside of the course and is always willing to work with me. 4. I started the bootcamp without any experience, but Thinkful's curriculum and support never made me feel inadequate. I am currently four months in and coding is already a part of my daily life. 5. I have not gotten to the job assistance part, so I can't give it a full rating. But my career mentor has already reached out to me and the mock interviews are definitely helpful. I feel like this program is designed to land students a job. That is my top priority and I am very satisfied with my progress so far.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Trey

September 23rd, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

With only a few months of coding experience prior to enrolling into the Thinkful part-time flexible career path, I have so far managed to finish all of my project assignments on time and conveniently attend mentor sessions. Before enrolling, my biggest concern was falling behind due to my lack of prior coding experience and/or basic understanding of code and web related stuff. I was a total noob when it came to computers, and so I naturally felt that enrolling into a bootcamp might not be a practical idea considering how rigorous and intensive most bootcamps are. Thinkful stands out from other bootcamps in that it offers various courses to accomodate its students. At age 29, I chose to enroll into the flexible part-time career path since I couldn't quit my current job. This isn't an option with other bootcamps, such as Hackreactor, a school in which I originally wanted to enroll. Thinkful offers same results as other schools, but different approaches.The Thinkful team has worked with me in many ways than just teaching me to code. The Q&A sessions that are offered, along with forums and Slack discussions, have helped immerse me in not only the langauge but the entire culture of code, an experience I couldn't have achieved with doing personal research alone. Like any language, to be fluent one must understand the abstract things that underlie grammar, syntax, and even pronunciation, and the abstract part of code, to me, is understanding the various styles code. There are so many ways to write code, and once you understand basic syntax and logic, the fun part is finding your style. Thinkful also does a great job at emphasizing the importance in honing your research skills as a developer. Various online resources are provided, perfect for bookmarking so to revisit or harken back to later if needed. If you're pretty serious about learning to code, I highly recommend doing so via the Thinkful team. I am 2 months in and already I feel I am starting to see the world from the eyes of a developer, and develop my own unique "style" of writing code.  

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Brian Barrow

September 7th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I have really enjoyed the Thinkful curriculum so far. The reason I signed up was the mentorship factor. I had been going through FreeCodeCamp for about a year and was making good progress there, but I never had any consistent and quality feedback on my code. My projects worked, but I didn't know if I was following best practices. Having a mentor has been absolutely priceless. Definitely worth it!

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Liz C.

August 28th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I'm currently enrolled in the flexible time full stack development course through thinkful.com . I don't have a background in coding but do have a sense of curiosity and desire to learn so I was searching for a program that would support me as I learnt concepts that we new to me.  Part of the beauty of this program is the personal support provided by the staff. I'm not searching for traditional employment upon graduation but rather the start of a freelance career so it's been great to hear from the various support staff as to how they can help me achieve this.  I've never felt like a generic student being pushed through the program but rather like an individual with specific needs that can be discussed and addressed.  I have 3 people in my support team: my mentor, my program manager and a career counselor. We have discussed how my experience can be tailored to help my needs, from changing out sections of the curicculum to altering my career search to match the requirements of being a freelancer.  It makes me fee like I'm being set up to succeed and flourish with my new found skills.In terms of coursework support, I have 3 online video sessions with my mentor where we talk through concepts I'm having trouble grasping or work through code that isn't working.  If I'm between sessions there is plenty of support in the form of online office hours or a slack channel filled with people happy to help.If you are worried about coding being too hard for you or feeling like you want support and motivation as you learn then I can't recommend thinkful.com enough.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Courtney Waller

August 24th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I'll lead with good news - I really did get a job (and a good one!) after completing Thinkful's flex front end bootcamp.I came in with very little knowledge about programming or web dev when I started in January, and Thinkful's course setup got me up and running in lightning fast time. Working with a mentor 3x a week was fantastic and much needed. I also took advantage of the Slack chatroom and live Q&A sessions so that even though I was doing it online, I felt like I had a community around me. Once I graduated (aka finished the curriculum), I had a very thorough review of my projects and portfolio to get them up to professional quality, plus help from an awesome team that introduced me to companies in my area and gave me interview and negotiating advice. From start to finish, I felt really supported and very much that what I was learning was on point and applicable to real life jobs. I would pick Thinkful again in a heartbeat and definitely recommend it to anyone looking to transition into a dev career.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Anonymous

August 15th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

Thinkful's customer service and professional mentorship are the program's best assets. I was always impressed by how accessible Thinkful staff are. Here's one example: I was worried that my final project wouldn't quite be up to snuff before another billing cycle. If Thinkful just wanted my money, they could have made me pay for another round, but instead, they were on my side and worked with me to make sure my final project was solid. The front-end unit was pretty easy thanks to resources like codecademy, but suddenly the back-end unit made me feel clueless at first. I definitely felt frustrated at first, but I think that Thinkful was doing me a favor by making me seek out answers to suppliment the provided material. Also, they made that seeking-out-of-answers pretty easy by responding to all questions on Slack channels and pointing me in the direction of articles and tutorials that made the pieces click. I realize now that I will have to know how to go out and find the answers to most of the problems I encounter as a web developer, so I am really glad that the curriculum didn't hand me all the answers off the bat.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Bryce

August 15th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

This course has really helped me to understand what I am doing. I have tried to start learning to code on my own but this is the first time I truly started to understand it and have it stick.Meeting with my mentor every week is really the difference maker. Just being able to learn from someone who is activley working in the industry is a huge help. My mentor has helped me grasp the information in the lessons way better than I could do on my own.The projects are also set up in a way that really helps apply what was just learned. The staff at Thinkful are really great about fixing any issues quickly when you let them know about it.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Cody

August 6th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I am only halfway through the part-time web development bootcamp, but have already learned more than I did in multiple college classes. Their curriculum is top notch, and I have an amazing mentor who I really connect with. I would highly recommend them.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Gerry Brosas

August 5th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I am currently enrolled in thinkful's Flexible web development bootcamp and here's my experience so far. It took me a while to finally commit to thinkful, a lot of research and asking around. a lot of other school out there offeres the same or if not almost the same curiculum as thiknkful. but what actually caught my attention was their promise to land you or at least help you land a job. and since i'm doing this to change careers these option works best for me. I started with a call with NOEL your friendly thinkful walking wikipedia who i think knows everything you need to know about thinkful. after he answered all my questions i know i'm in. he sent me the link to the enrollment pageNote: one thing i love about thinkful is they offer a a lot of payment options. which really really help. they're working with skill funds for any one who needs to take a loan. after i enrolled, i got scheduled with Aric my program manager who walked me through on how the course will be. he was staright out on what to exoect from them and what they expect from. after that i had my first mentor interview scheduled, which i think cause my mentor flaked on me, but i'm pretty sure he has a valid reason. i sent an email out to aric and the thinkful support team, they responded pretty quick. i got a little late with my mentor sessions but it's ok cause they provided me with a new mentor Kris Craw who is by the way an amazing mentor. his style in teaching works prefect for me. i don't know about other mentor but this guy is the best, he actually gives a lot of pro-tips which helps a lot in moving forward, his tips makes your coding life more easier. i'm currenty doing the JQuery lessons and so far everything has been great.this course like every other course really depends on how your outlook is. if you're willing to learn you will learn a lot of new amazing things. what i really suggest to anyone planning to enroll is try out codecademy free material its not 100% the same but i think its the closest you can get on how their material feels like, this is a good way to see if you can commit into an on-line coding class. cause it's not easy you need dedication.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Dylan

July 28th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I am about 6 weeks into the Thinkful Flexible Bootcamp. At first I was a little sketched out about forking the cash for a coding camp. Upon many reviews and many trips to reddit and youtube I stumbled on thinkful.

Initially signing up for the course was easy. I was guided through by the program manager until they could find me a Mentor. Although, it took a week to get me a mentor after signing up my concerns were addressed in a very quick manner. They got my mentor set up with me and helped me in every way possible.

Once I got completely settled in which only took a week for me because everyone was awesome. I was impressed with how structured all of the material was and how motivating my mentor always is. The plus with having a mentor is that you are held accountable and have to answer for something if you do not progress. I have been self teaching for a while but have learned more in the past month from Thinkful than 4 years of self taught learning.

The only thing that I have to say about thinkful or any bootcamp that is on the verge of negative is that it is not for the faint of heart. I work a full time job 40+ hours a week in DevOps so I am in high demand. On top of that I put in 3.5 hours a night to my bootcamp. On top of those things I have a wife and a 2 year old daughter to pay attention to. It is not impossible just hard but if you go through it every accomplishment and every problem solved is that much more grand because you have a life outside of the camp that needs attention to.

So I would recommend Thinkful to anyone that would wants to learn a whole lot while working. You have to want it though. If you are in it for just the glamour of being a developer you will be disappointed because it is not always glamourous. It is not always sitting at Starbucks drinking a latte just hacking away. You will get stuck and you will feel inadequate at times. However, the trick is to persevere because once you have learned and once you get your dream job you will be thanking yourself. Your family will be proud of you as well.

I like Thinkful and I support what they are doing whole heartedly because they truly care about their relationships with the students and the alumni. I am looking forward to my future in software engineering and web development with the expert assistance and career services of Thinkful.

TO THE POINT: If you are looking to learn and have the backing of industry professionals and people that truly care about your success sign up now at thinkful.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Daryll

July 25th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

Even though I'm only on my second month into my bootcamp, I'm so glad I chose Thinkful. All the staff that I have had the pleasure to interact with have all been very helpful and has made everything very simple. My mentor, Mario, is a great friend and mentor. He tries his best to answer all my questions - if he wasn't too sure what the answer is, he'll look for the answer and make sure to explain it to me. There was an error on my billing and Ariana quickly corrected the error. Aric, my program advisor, has been very helpful as well answering every question I have and have been very supportive. I needed to take a month off as I will be moving in August and everyone has made it a very smooth transition for me.

Outside of everyone being amazing, the lessons are also as great as the staff are helpful. The lessons are given to you in a way where you can get the basic idea of the topic and try to take off from there. But even if you can't figure it out, your mentor, other mentors, and the students are more than willing to answer any questions on the community messaging. There are daily Q&A sessions that are available to all students to take advantage as well.

Thinkful is honestly a great community to learn coding. I look forward to continuing to interact with everyone and finishing my course.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Anonymous

July 22nd, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

Are you totally intimidated by the phrase "Full Stack Web Developer"? I was too. Thinkful's entire Slack community dispelled my fears. Anytime I had a question, Thinkful was there to point me in the right direction. Anytime I was worried about career options or needed further support, Thinkful was there. My mentors were all engaged and helpful, and when (due to scheduling conflicts) I needed to switch to a new mentor in my first few weeks of the course, the mentorship manager was immediately on it to get me the connection I needed. The career services team is up-front, kind and thorough, and I have every confidence that they will be able to place me in the right network as I move past graduation.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Ted Tzuridis

July 15th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

Before I write about Thinkful I'd like for people to know of my prior knowledge about bootcamps from friends I have. My two friends went to MKS in San Fran, it cost them over 20k each for 3 months because of the cost of living in San Fran as well as tuition. They both obtained jobs within 6 months of graduation.

I chose Thinkful over MKS or Hack Reactor because I was able to keep my job which is not something I could find anywhere else and I could also go at my own pace with the part time program. Thinkful is the most affordable of all the top bootcamps and the mentoring is like working with other professional devs from day 1.

I have yet to finish the coursework as I just started in July. However the curriculum is exactly the same as what you would learn at places like MKS and I know this because I had 2 friends who went there. If you have some prior knowledge in html css or js you will probably finish in about 4 months with the part time program.

If you are considering a bootcamp, I would just say to think about this: Why pay more money for the same curriculum? And also if you have bills to pay so you need to keep working rather than get 3-6 months off, it's highly unlikely you will find a program with mentors that can be available whenever you need them, which is how thinkful is setup.

TLDR:

In short Thinkful is the most affordable top bootcamp with a network of mentors that doesn't exist anywhere else. It is the best option for people who cant take 3-6 months off whether you be a total noobie or have some prior knowledge. And finally in my opinion I would say that it is also the best option if you do have that time off and participate in the full time program and that is because of the vast network of mentors they have.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Justin

July 14th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I've been working on the flexible web development career path for the past six weeks. The course really drives you to keep learning, and the people are amazing! I've had conversations with many people from HQ, and they are all quite helpful and genuinely want to help you to do your best. It's been such a great experience that I've chosen to enroll in the full time course!

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Jesus Medero

July 13th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I just have to say I'm having a blast in the flexible web development bootcamp with Thinkul. This is my first online class and the experience has been really good for me. I think the projects are great they have really challenged me to ask a lot of questions and it has been really great to be able to see what a professional web developer does and how they break down certain designs and how they go about their work flow. My mentor has also been very encouraging and has given me some really good sources to help me out. I was skeptical about doing an online course thought I might get lost in the mix of things but that is not the case here you get a ton of resources to help you through the times where're you get stuck and even in those times at least for me they have been the most helpful forcing me to call upon all my recourses and try to figure things out on own but having an amazing safety net in having the mentor. What I think is my favorite thing about the program is that they are not too hands on and not too hands off with you more then just my ability to code and learn how to learn other languages I have had more confidence in myself and my future after I get out of Thinkful I would definitely recommend it and plan on taking more classes in the future here.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Majid Rahmat

July 12th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

Thinkful's approach to education is both refreshing and relevant.

You learn job-ready skills while thoroughly understanding the academic fundamentals of web development. Their onboarding process is amazingly seamless and
everyone I've encountered (especially my mentor) is super-friendly and knowledgeable. They understand and empathize with the student which means you never feel "dumb" for asking questions and are constantly pushed to get better and better.

The curriculum is very logical and well thought out and the community is available 24/7 for any doubts/questions. I have been in the course for 2 months and have learned soo much, it's incredible. Also, the focus on post-graduation employment is clear and well-articulated wherein you need to have a goal and Thinkful will help you get there.

One word of caution...please don't expect the course to be easy and for you to just breeze through it. Learning takes time, dedication and motivation; if you can balance and maintain these things, you will find yourself learning many practical and fascinating concepts.

As a lifelong student of traditional on-campus schools and colleges, I was wary of distance ed. This course has quelled all of those fears and I have absolutely no regrets taking the Career Path and would recommend it to anyone looking to learn and work in the web dev field.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Brad Ellis

July 9th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I started the Part-Time Web Development Career Path to change careers and become a programer. Trying to teach myself I never set a schedule for myself and having the mentor sessions at Thinkful really help me to set a goal for myself and push myself to reach that goal. The community at Thinkful is awesome everyone there is helpful with answering questions or helping you figure out the solution to your question. I am almost done with the frontend development section and feel I have learned more in this month than I have learned throughout my entire college career. I am really looking forward to finishing up the frontend work and diving into backend development.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Anonymous

June 22nd, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I just completed Thinkful's Web Development Career Path and was very impressed with the program. I’ve been coding regularly for over a year now and I am currently seeking full-time work as a full stack developer. During the program I studied in depth, full stack JavaScript web development, created four personal projects, and received excellent mentorship. I was able to complete the program in three months without working. I recommend this program to anyone starting out in web development.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Jimmy A Maysonet Avila

June 14th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

Thinkful has a way of teaching that is profound and collectively puts you were you need to be through examples, links to various amounts of information, and the 1 on 1 mentoring. This is an amazing program and I would recommend this one to everyone. The way the course is it setup could only bring about success to those who use it and take advantage of all the support and content available. Great job and keep up the great work. I will definitely be returning for more courses and to continue were I left off.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Kate

June 10th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I'm about a month into the Web Development Career Path and am enjoying it thus far. Although I can't yet speak of the job assistance at this point, I like the way I'm able to view everything that will be coming up in the curriculum and the availability of my mentor. I meet with him three times a week over video chat, and have met with two other staff online who have been super welcoming, nice and helpful. It definitely helps as a motivator to see other people working for Thinkful who are so excited about what they're doing and they have great advice. Most importantly, I love that it's completely on my own time and flexible and remote, as--like many other--I'm not the person to sit still for 8 hours a day in the same spot all at once. There are a lot of extra resources, and essentially a good chunk of the program is teaching yourself how to learn, both now and in the future. This is an essential skill to have since everything is constantly changing in the programming world.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Andre Newman

June 7th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

It's hard to find a criticism of this program. I always had an interest in learning how to code and I even looked (and got accepted) into competing bootcamps before deciding on Thinkful. The deciding factor for me was that I could learn on my own time and still work my day job, since I couldn't drop everything for 12 weeks.

This ended up being the best decision for me because I had no prior experience. Working at my own pace allowed me to become comfortable with the material and my mentor helped me work through any issues I came across. I was so pleased with my progress that I went from the part time web development program to the full time web development career path. That allowed me to have 3 mentor sessions a week which was more immersive and made me feel more accountable for my work.

Since this is a review for people who are weighing their options I will say that your success depends on you. You could learn on your own but there is only so far you can go without any assistance. Having a mentor helps and in my experience, the mentors have a wealth of knowledge and are extremely helpful. There is also a very active community on Slack as well as live Q&A sessions where you can go for more information or if you have any questions.

So far I've had three mock interviews and my mentor is helping me iron out how I can present myself to potential employers. I didn't give the job assistance 5 stars yet because it's still ongoing and I stilI have more mock interviews beyond the introductory ones that I've had.

Overall, I have had a great experience with Thinkful and I definitely recommend it to anyone who has the drive and determination to become a developer.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by David Conner

June 3rd, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I've checked out nearly all of the coding bootcamps that are being offered near my location. I initially avoided the online programs since, as an educator at a university, it's a real challenge to offer the same quality and experience in an online environment compared to physically being in a classroom. However, in my evaluation process I was continually disappointed with many aspects of the programs available. Several were struggling to get qualified instructors with any significant experience, class sizes were clearly too large to manage, recruiters seemed to be struggling to get qualified students who could handle the rigorous load, and the cost was extremely high with no factual evidence presented that graduates were getting jobs.

Then I came across Thinkful. After several weeks of asking questions via email and evaluating the information provided, I decided to interview with an advisor. What a difference! Noel answered all of my questions and I never once got the impression that I was the target of a marketing campaign to fill a seat. Afterwards, I met online with Derek, a program manager, who gave me a clear idea of what to expect, as well as, some initial advice on what it would realistically take for me to switch careers - again, no meaningless slogans or false consolations. As a matter of fact, I immediately took his advice and I'm already talking with individuals in the field to improve my chances of getting a job even though I'm only three weeks into the curriculum.

A major benefit of the Thinkful approach is the mentor. There's no substitute for being able to have access to a professional developer when you're trying to master these types of skills. Sure, anyone can buy the textbook and complete the assignments, but it's the instructor that makes the difference in the quality of the learning experience. My mentor, Vincent, has a great deal of experience which is evident when he critiques my solutions and responds to my questions. This type of one-on-one mentorship is exactly what I anticipated since I want to be able to think and code like an experienced web developer, not just complete some assignments.

I'm also impressed with the way the program is designed to accomodate the learning pace of the student. This may be one of the most under appreciated aspects of education, especially when your objective is mastery of a set of skills. The pace flows with me so I never feel like I need to rush over a topic because the class is moving on to something else. When I need more practice, or just want to take some time to explore a related topic, I can do so without worry that I'm holding anyone else back.

To get job-ready skills, it's clear that I need to put in a great deal of time and effort. This means reading everything I can get access to, searching through resources, asking questions, attending local meetups, seeking out workshops, and writing code everyday. The resources and people at Thinkful have been instrumental in givng me the direction I expected and is definitely worth the cost. I'm sincerely glad I took the time to explore this program!

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Matias Salas

June 2nd, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I've taken quite a bit of online course and as a matter of fact, my BFA in Visual Communication is from an online course. And I can say most of them were helpful, but Thinkful has been by far the best. I've learned more about Javascript and what to expect from the industry then from any other course I've taken. The curriculum can be tough, but as long as you keep engaging with your mentor and spend at least 2 hours a day you shouldn’t have a problem. And even though some of the lessons I’ve actually encountered before from other online sites, there has been a couple of times that my mentors were able to help me expand my understanding of that subject. I think that is where Thinkful excels. They have some of the best professionals in the industry and they give you the opportunity to “work” with them. All of the other online courses I’ve taken before didn’t really give you that interaction, and for me I feel that I learn more when I can when I can get some guidance from time to time. Though it’s important, especially in this industry, that you can learn new frameworks or technologies on your own. And thankful does provide some resources that I have not known about until now.

Their staff is pretty great to. When I first started with Thinkful, taking the Front End Web Development course, I had some financial issues that prevented me from continuing. They were able to postpone my course until I was able to start again, and even went the extra mile when I decided to change my study (twice!) in the first month of the course. I finished up the Front End course and now working on the Career Path.

I'm about 2 months in and I'm already getting some Job Assistance in the form of getting prepared with my resume and branching out my network. So far, pretty cool.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Rhonda

May 27th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I have been really impressed with the Web Development Career Path here at Thinkful. I only had prior experience building a website using HTML many years ago (that took about a semester to build) and updating a blog. I have already learned so much more from this course as I am 7 weeks into my program and still learning at a rapid pace.

It's a lot of information and really challenging, but there's a big Thinkful community here with lots of resources and mentors ready to help. I even get to meet with my own assigned mentor 3x/week and it helps keep me on track when I'd normally stray by now. The thing that's amazing about Thinkful is that it's constantly updating its curriculum to stay current with the latest programming language trends and you get to showcase them in the projects here.

Everyone is enthusiastic and out to help each other. It's really nice and encouraging. The added bonus is that you get career services at the end of the bootcamp which they will help you find a job. I've already had a pre-session to discuss what to expect and I am excited to finish and get out there.

Thinkful has really opened my eyes to endless possibilities and I am grateful for it all.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Adrian Lopez

May 27th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I am about one month into the program and I have learned a good deal more than I have learned on my own. First off, I am going to say that I am not coming into this bootcamp as a fresher, I got my BS in software engineering and have been studying independently through books and Pluralsight (another awesome resource in my opinion). I came in with the goal of getting a web developer position which has eluded me for years and although I had a small GitHub presence, I can't say that it was anywhere near impressive. Just in the first month I have pushed 15+ projects to GitHub which have slowly increase in complexity per project and I still have a long way to go. The mentor I was assigned has provided me a good deal of guidance and is trying to push me into more advanced areas to improve my overall code quality seeing as some of the other topics as easy to me. So essentially the mentor doesn't just sit back and watch you do your work, but actually tailors your sessions to push you further as a developer. The course material is good and very well guided but it also doesn't give you all the answers, giving you the chance to think of solutions or do additional research to come up with the answer. Of course, if you are stuck, you can either talk to your mentor or go to Q&A session which are available throughout the day where you can talk to other mentors for assistance. The course also offers workshops which direct in the learning of other technologies. Don't get me wrong, self study can get you far but studying everything without a focus can often leave you without a job. This is where mentorship is working well for me. Thinkful focuses their curriculum in a way that prepares you for work from day 1 and also helps you prepare for interviews. The preparation for interviews is not only in the curriculum, but also tested at intervals through mock interviews which then provide you feedback to go over with your mentor. And of course, there are career services which help you to understand where and how to get out and meet people in your area that both work in the field and can help you find the career you are looking for. Even though I am not finished with the program, I can really say the program is worth it.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Bruce C

May 23rd, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I can't speak highly enough about my experience with Thinkful. I enrolled in the front-end web development career path program last fall, and just graduated last week. I was originally accepted to, and planned to attend, an in-person, 40 hours per week FEWD bootcamp, but discovered Thinkful just days before I was due to begin that program, and I'm glad I did.

Being online based, Thinkful was extremely flexible in allowing me to work around my own schedule, and keep my part-time job while working my way through the program. And my mentor was even more flexible, allowing me to move our meetings around if something changed with my job schedule, with minimal notice.

And speaking of my mentor, he was nothing short of AMAZING. Seriously. The FEWD career path program allows for three one-hour meetings with your mentor per week. Well, my mentor often went above and beyond that guideline. I can recall a handful of times when, if I was struggling with something, and he had extra time on his hands, our sessions would last two to three hours. He was happy to take the time I needed to get it right, and feel comfortable with what we'd just worked on together.

On the occassions my mentor wasn't available for whatever reason, fellow students, other mentors, and various Thinkful employees would often be available on Slack to discuss bugs in code, or just to chat. Rarely did I ever feel I was on my own.

I'm just now about to start into the career services portion of the program, so I can't speak to that at this time. But if it's like the rest of my experience with Thinkful, I'm certain I won't be disappointed.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Lynne W

May 22nd, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I've been in the Web Development Career Path track for almost a month and have been very impressed with the curriculum, the Thinkful community, the staff ,and my mentor. There's no doubt that the coursework is substantial, but Thinkful help and support is never far away. The Thinkful staff periodically reach out to see how I'm doing, I've already had one call to discuss career plans, and my mentor is awesome. The three sessions every week really help keep me on track (especially since I'm also working full-time) and it's great to discuss what I'm learning with someone who has been doing this work for years.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Chris B

May 11th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

Like you right now, I too scoured this and other "coding bootcamp review websites” trying to evaluate which school was the best choice for me and my situation. I am 44 years old with a 20+ year background in management and operations. Prior to starting with Thinkful.com the last time I coded was when I was 15 and teaching myself BASIC with my Commodore64.

After researching several schools that met my criteria (fully online with a dedicated web development career path program), and speaking with prior graduates of different schools, I chose Thinkful.com because it seemed to have the strongest, and most serious, focus on preparing its students for a career in web development.

Curriculum

Thankful’s Web Development Career Path curriculum is a compilation of several classes pieced together in a logical sequence that gradually increase in complexity and depth and build on each other. You start at the basics in HTML/CSS and work through jQuery to JS. Then you go back through everything again but at an advanced level. After that you will then move onto advanced front and back end libraries.

Your question to me now should be, “Yes, but have you learned anything?” In less than three weeks I have worked in HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and jQuery, and that I can comfortably say I not only know the ‘how’, but also the ‘why’. SO, yes, I have learned A LOT in three weeks.

Mentoring and Support

Imagine having access to working professionals throughout the day and evening to ask all your questions, because that is what you will have. Like other schools Thinkful's mentors are experienced working professionals with extensive experience in the industry. But, even though I meet with my mentor 3 times a week, he is regularly available on Slack throughout the day or night. And, if my mentor isn’t available to help me outside of our sessions, there is always someone from Thinkful available on Slack, or holding ‘office-hours’ via a webinar you can hop onto. Outside of the program, Thinkful’s staff has always answered every email I have sent regarding a question or concern within less than a day.

Career Service

During the first week their Education Director set up a meeting with me and laid out the services that will be provided throughout the course and the schedule of when they will occur. I am only into my third week and I have my first mock interview in a few days and then my program review. Yes, you will be reviewed before you can go on and continue the program. They are not just going to take your money. You have to pass a review of your work based on input from your mentor and your interview. I don;t believe it is a test so much as a ‘check point’ to establish that you are both capable and able to continue on with the program.

Summary

Overall I would say that Thankful’s Web Developer Career Path program has exceeded my expectations and I believe that when it comes time to find an employer I will have the knowledge as well as a full support team assisting me. I highly encourage you to engage them with questions and concerns.

Feedback

My only feedback regarding this course is I wish I had more time to go deep on JS, but the course seems focused on being more wide than deep which makes sense for someone pursuing this career path.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Anonymous

May 6th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

It's only been a month since I started the Frontend Web Development course but I've learned so much in the past month than just by studying by myself. I learned a few things here and there online about HTML and CSS but Thinkful courses really help you learn it, feel comfortable with it, and create things. For instance, I'm comfortable at making websites and know which resources to look at to learn how to do things I don't know how to do yet. I just learned to use jQuery and learning JavaScript so I can do a few things to make a website interactive.

Not only that but I also get a career guidance counselor, a mentor who I see for 3 hours every week, and a program manager to make sure that my curriculum suits my needs. There's also cool workshops and Q&A sessions to learn more about a particular topic or just ask another mentor at Thinkful questions about your projects. You also have to do 5 mock interviews to make sure you're ready to answer any technical questions that you'll face during your real interviews. All in all, it's pretty awesome!

The community at Thinkful is really friendly and everyone is always ready to help you. I was debating about going to a bootcamp in SF but it's really expensive and even to get in, you basically have to know just as much as a junior developer and I really didn't think I was ready to do that yet. On the other hand, you can learn through Thinkful at home, get all the support and community at your fingertip and they even help you find a job. I think everyone should at least try it and see for themselves what an amazing program Thinkful is.

Thinkful is the (1) inexpensive, (2) forces accountability with mentor 3x/week, (3) in-depth like on-campus bootcamps.

My mentor, Roberto, is extraordinary. Runs his own businesses with partners, just got accepted into a top program with one of his companies, very knowledgeable, and has offered to make himself available for help even outside our scheduled, 3x-per-week mentoring sessions. He's proactive in helping me figure out solutions to my projects, and always helps me with best practices for writing maintainable code.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Jon Wade

May 4th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I can't rate Thinkful highly enough. I originally signed-up for an 'in-person' bootcamp with Maker's Academy in London, but needed more flexibility in terms of location, times for study and curriculum. Thinkful has enabled me to study when, where and whatever I want. Again, to contrast some other bootcamps who dogmatically stick to one technology (typically Ruby or Python), Thinkful were the only course that would allow me to customise my curriculum to suit my interests and the job market in the UK. As a base, a full-stack JavaScript course, with Ruby as an optional elective. In addition, through speaking to my mentor and having seen a live coding exercise in React, that module was then added into my course as well.

Victor, my mentor, is amazing - he's always on hand to lend guidance and moral support. The other team members I've interacted with are equally enthusiastic and helpful, with real-world advice and experience to draw upon.

Beyond the one-on-one curriculum, there's the opportunity to interact with your peers on Slack and attend group Q&A sessions and other lectures on topics which are connected to your course, again at times that suit you.

If you're looking for the ultimate in flexibility, enthusiasm, and a deeply technical curriculum that really pushes you, look no further than Thinkful.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Alex

April 29th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I'm just over two months into Thinkful's Front-End Web Development Career Path track, and I have found it to be a very enriching experience. Not only has my knowledge of coding best practices grown, my ability to find information and use it to solve problems has improved. Programming forces you to be analytical and to extrapolate what you learn from others, in order to use it for your own purposes, which is just a generally good skill to have in life, I think.

I find the Thinkful curriculum to be well-suited to my learning style, and the lesson format generally goes like this: there are a few sections of each lesson where you code along to what amount to tutorials, in order to introduce the main concepts of the unit, and then at the end of each lesson (or most of them) you are tasked with incorporating what you've learned into a small project which you then push up to GitHub, and supply the link to your GitHub repository, in order to discuss it with your mentor during the next session. The tutorials are simplified, broken-up versions of what you end up doing in the project-based parts of the lessons, which is good because they give you a groundwork for what will be needed, but then you have to do the extra work to connect the concepts to the actual implementation. Which is really what being a web developer is all about. At the ends of major sections in the coursework there are larger projects where you get to decide what to build (as long as you demonstrate your facility with the required programming concepts), which is cool because if you're motivated enough, you end up with some pretty cool portfolio projects that reflect not only your coding abilities, but your interests as a developer and as a person as well.

Speaking of motivation, that is what it takes to get through Thinkful. Because it's self-paced and entirely online, you have to be your own motivator. You don't have a classroom with a teacher and a big group of other students that you go to five times per week like in-person coding bootcamps. You have to be mostly self-motivated (although having a mentor really helps), and since they charge by the month, it's in your best interests to get on the grind, learn the stuff, and start making killer, production-quality web applications as fast as you can so you can get out there and blow hiring managers' minds with your portfolio.

My mentor, Chad, is awesome. He's a great guy, and very knowledgeable, and has offered to make himself available for help even outside our scheduled, 3x-per-week mentoring sessions (via email for the most part, but once via the provided Thinkful video chat room, which I thought was really cool and nice of him) (also: not sure if other mentors do this--I hope they do, because I know I end up needing help throughout the week). He's proactive in helping me figure out solutions to my projects, and always helps me with best practices for writing maintainable code. He's also a seasoned pro as a developer, and has some good advice for the job hunt.

However, despite the "we'll get you hired" guarantee, the job hunt kind of seems to be a weak area for Thinkful. You do mock interviews with other mentors, which is great, because they are all professional developers, and part of the job of a professional developer is to interview prospective new hires (what I'm saying is that the interviews seem to be realistic), and they give feedback to your mentor, which you then talk about. They also have a tuition-free segment after graduation where you meet up weekly with a career counsellor who gives you advice on the job search. This is all well and good, but I'm not sure it can compare to the practice of in-person coding schools that have tangible connections in their local job market, and oftentimes get to basically funnel students into internships. Don't get me wrong, I'm confident that I will graduate from the program and get a job as a developer in a timely manner (my skills are getting to be pretty on-point, and I'm learning some valuable networking and interview skills), but it's probably going to be a bit harder for me than for my friends who are attending in-person coding bootcamps in town, who are going to get hooked up with internships upon graduation. That said, all it really takes to get a job in this industry is a bit of hustle, and Thinkful will help you with the hustle. If you're competent, confident, you work well with others, and you go out to make friends with other developers, you'll be all right.

Overall, I'm super glad I enrolled in Thinkful. It has been an overwhelmingly positive experience so far. It's on the cheaper side of full-time coding bootcamps, and if you can commit a lot of time and effort to it, and are willing to learn not only the coding skills but the interview skills and the job-search-hustle skills, then you'll be fully equipped to get a job as a web developer upon completion (I assume--I haven't finished yet and I don't have a job, so I guess I can't say for sure. Maybe I'll update this review once I get a job!). Overall 4/5, would recommend.

Sorry for all the parentheses, I'm a web developer, not a writer.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Krystyna

April 14th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I took a few classes in college and found my passion, however after graduation life moved fast and 2 years passed. I knew I wanted a career in web development but didn't know where to start and I didn't have the confidence to consider myself a "professional coder". I tried a few free teaching apps and programs (like many others) but couldn't seem to get focused or motivated. I felt like they were great for practice and review but very difficult to teach yourself with.

That's when I came across Thinkful. Thinkful gave me the opportunity to go back to school on my own schedule and my own time without having to worry about semesters and application deadlines. But that was only the first perk! They hold you accountable, so it keeps you on track and motivated. They provide mock interviews (my weakness) which is another huge perk for me. And my mentor is not the only one keeping tabs on how I am doing in the program. So even though it's an online course, it certainly doesn't feel like it. I've taken online courses previously, and never did well in them. If that is your concern, as it was mine, don't let it be. The webinars and livechats with your mentor 2-3x per week makes you feel accountable and it's like you're actually having class sessions.

Though some was review, I have learned many new strategies as well as content during my first month alone. I absolutely cannot wait to complete this program and see how far I have come in such a short period of time. The projects are fun and challenging but very achievable. I get excited knowing that my portfolio is going to look awesome as I continue to build and add more projects!

I feel like Thinkful is there from start to finish. They don't just throw you out after completion. They stick by yourside during the whole interview and job hunt process to make sure you get in the field you want. I don't know about you, but college did not provide that for me. So in essence, I feel as if the Career Path was a wise investment for myself as well as cost effective.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Vincent

April 12th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I was simply blown away by all the resources Thinkful had to offer. My mentor was extremely knowledgeable and patient with me when explaining to me tough concepts. He was always quick to respond to any questions I had whether by email or by Slack chat. There is also an overwhelming amount of office hours and workshops that cover a wide variety of subjects and it's easy to find one that fits your schedule.

Overall, the customer service was very accommodating and the curriculum was very in depth. I would highly recommend Thinkful to anyone!

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Anonymous

April 12th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

My overall experience wasn't the best. I went through the FEWD Career Path. You're supposed to get multiple mock interviews throughout the course. I received one 15 minute mock interview. Also, don't believe the job placement numbers. Their job placement assistance was a joke. The job assistance mentor who was assigned to me looked at my portfolio site for about 10 minutes and that's as far as job assistance went. No one looked at my resume etc. I had to hire someone outside of Thinkful to help me with that. The mentor who was assigned to review my portfolio and help with finding a job had just graduated Thinkful 1-2 years ago. Is that a joke?

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Victor Ahluwalia

April 9th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I'm about a month through the web development career path and I could not be any more satisfied with my experience. My mentor, Alex Cumbo, is a great teacher and has guided me through the material by breaking down concepts at a very detailed level and by keeping me interested in learning more. I really like the way the curriculum is structured as it introduces a certain topic and then provides an opportunity to complete fun exercises that help reinforce the concepts.

I am excited to progress further into the course and will provide an update once I complete the curriculum.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Anonymous

April 8th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I've had a great experience using the Thinkful Web Development Career Path. You must be disciplined enough to spend time working through challenges on your own, but the great thing about the program is access to the wealth of knowledge through your mentor and Slack community. Thinkful provides fun challenges to work through each new concept. Combining that with access to people with real world experience really makes the learning process flow wonderfully.

I'm looking forward to continuing towards my career goals with the Thinkful team.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Amit

April 7th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I've had an extremely positive experience taking the Web Development Career Path course through Thinkful. I had taken all the self-paced online courses in HTML, CSS, and JS via Codecademy and was ready to take what I learned to the next level. They definitely helped me do that.

Thinkful does a great job of teaching you about a subject, and having you apply it to an actual project. All the little exercises that courses like Codecademy give are helpful for understanding syntax and the general language; it is, in my experience, very difficult to take a basic understanding of a language and build something with it. They also helped me do that.

Thinkful did a great job introducing me to several technologies and libraries that are critical to becoming a competitive job candidate in today's developer job market (Webpack, React, Node, Redux, etc.).

Thinkful's cream of the crop is its mentor sessions. I was matched with an experienced developer who understands the ins and outs of what one needs to know to become a professional developer. He's done a really good job of teaching me the latest and greatest technologies (listed above), which I can easily take with me to a professional setting. He's also been available to me as a resource throughout the week if I ever get stuck on a bug or confused on a subject matter. It's kind of like having your own personal tutor who's always available to help you out. It's pretty great.

The other cool part of Thinkful is it's Slack group and daily office hours sessions. If for whatever reason your mentor isn't available, Thinkful has a giant group chat of fellow students and mentors that are more than happy to help you out if you get stuck on something.

Overall, I pretty much avoided paying $19k for a full-time bootcamp, worked part-time while I studied, and gained all the necessary skills I needed to get a job as a developer. It's a pretty sweet deal.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by M Williams

April 6th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

The curriculum is great but to me the mentor session time is what really stands out about the program. I came to the right place.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Anonymous

April 5th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

At first, I was hesitant to go forward with an online bootcamp, but now that it has been a month, I am definitely pleased with my choice. Yes, there are free materials online and books you can buy, but sometimes books/tutorials are too theory heavy, lack projects, too dry, or erroneous. Sometimes you also need an experienced guide to help you separate the wheat from the chaff, when it comes to learning new materials.

In my opinion, the best way to learn a language is to use it and develop meaningful projects. This course does just that. There is ample room for creativity for the projects and you'll get a good base of the fundamentals from which you can self-teach.

Mentorship is excellent because you learn by asking the right questions and getting feedback. Sometimes you get stuck and need to dig your way out, but in the beginning stages, you crawl before you can walk.

I would definitely recommend Thinkful to anyone interested in learning in a structured environment using a pragmatic approach.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by B. Kwong

March 29th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

It's been about a month since I started this program with Thinkful and it's been nothing but great experiences. I wanted to learn how to code because I felt stagnant at work and I wanted to make a change in my career direction. The material has been great, easy to understand, but at the same time challenging enough (they try to not give you the answers straight away). I've had a good amount of instructors, career coaches, mentors, etc. reach out to me to check on my progress in addition to the online community of students across various stages that are quite helpful as well.

Quite looking forward to the rest of the material as well. Even though they've got curriculum set up when you enroll, it seems like they're willing to let you pick and choose what you believe is more relevant. For example, I'm looking at CSS preprocessors and the course is recommending Less. But my mentor and I discovered that Bootstrap 4 will be providing more support for Sass instead and so we're thinking about exploring Compass/Sass as an alternative.

Another great thing is that the community seems more than willing to share code and projects for inspiration. I can't speak too much about job assistance yet, because at this time of writing, I haven't gone through mock interviews or anything of the sort (still just 1 month in!). Having said that, my career coach has already reached out to me to recommend steps I should be taking to make myself visible, etc.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Anonymous

March 11th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

Upon my joining the Thinkful community I had no expectations and was really nervous to join a group of individuals who have so much knowledge of development, coding and building. It can very intimidating to learn something you have little or no knowledge of and expect to be successful in accomplishing the course. When something is new you have to embrace it and the Thinkful mentors and resources will make sure they help you get there. I'm having a wonderful and exciting learning experience with Thinkful.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Ben Baik

March 10th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I am almost 6 weeks into the course. So far I am very pleased. This program sets you up with great resources. I meet with a mentor 3x a week for an hour. I attend a lot of the workshops to get my questions answered. The Slack community is also a great way to get help. The curriculum can be lacking at times but mentor sessions can make up for that. Also this style of learning taught you to research on your own. I'm finding that being a good Googler is an important part of web development. It also teaches you to communicate what you are struggling with to mentors.

I have had no problems with any of the mentors. I also have been helped by students that are further in the program. Overall a great experience. Do not regret enrolling.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Teresa

March 10th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I was completely new to coding when I started this course about five weeks ago. Within that short time, Many Thinkful staff members in various roles (about 9) have reached out. Each and every person was friendly, inviting, encouraging and helpful. I sometimes have trouble comprehending the written course material and often become only more confused by what I find when I google. However, the 3x/wk meetings with my mentor, Marius, have been invaluable in helping me past what sometimes seem like insurmountable hurdles. I like that things are moving along at a relatively rapid pace and am looking forward to my first "mock interview" which is tomorrow. I have no doubt that the job assistance and coaching will be just as valuable as the course itself.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Mark

March 9th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I had a quick look at Thinkful last year, and then moved on, thinking that they were a bit "light-weight", but boy, was I wrong!

The "Web Development Career Path" with the job guarantee made me realize that Thinkful had a stake in my success, which meant that they would teach me what I needed to learn, in order find a job after graduation.

I am so glad that I decided to join up with the "Web Development Career Path" this year, because now I can see that their course-ware is as challenging as it needs to be, given that they want to prepare me for a job.

I see my mentor 3 times per week. He is a highly experienced developer who not only mentors aspiring developers, but also owns a web development business, which means that I get real world guidance, and invaluable insight into the industry, as it really is.

I've come across many developer courses, but I think that Thinkful has a good balance of course-ware, workshops, daily question and answer sessions, and great mentor assistance. They might need more workshops for beginner topics, which I had already been familiar with, before signing up.

I am almost a month into the course, and have found that most of the lessons are text-based, but very short and to the point, with coding challenges throughout, and a project at the end of each unit. I would have liked to see more of the content presented via video, since it would make the information more easily "digestible", thus a faster learning experience.

I have not participated much in their Slack community, but it seems to be very busy, so I'll eventually do that at some point. Having a mentor 3 days per week seems to be working well enough at this point.

All-in-all, my experience thus far, has been great. I am very excited about completing the course, and finding a job as a developer.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Marc

March 9th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I am 6 weeks into the Web Development Career Path Course, and I'm very pleased with my experience thus far. The coursework is challenging at times, but meeting with my mentor 3 times per week, and checking the Slack student thread have helped me during the times where I get "stuck."

I haven't really gotten to see the full extent of the job assistance component of the program, but I recently had my first "mock technical interview" (I think there's 1 per month as part of the course). The mock technical interview was the perfect way to test/gauge my progress in the course, and also helped familiarize myself with the technical interview process that will come later on down the road.

If there's one suggestion I would make to improve the course, it would be to include some supplemental video resources/tutorials. Some of the concepts can be heavy on technical lingo, and thus pretty complex (especially for those new to programming), so having videos could help reinforce/explain those concepts.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Rachel Lee

March 7th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

It's been great so far. The curriculum's well designed and has helped me feel a lot more comfortable with frontend development. And my mentor Ben's awesome. Period.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Courtney Waller

March 7th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

I've been super pleased with everything. The curriculum scales in a way that is always challenging but never impossible. My mentor Marius is awesome!

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Anonymous

February 18th, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

Thinkful was a complete waste of money and time. They have little to no curriculum and my mentor was impossible to get a hold of. You might as well just go through free content on your own.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Sylwia Z

January 1st, 2016

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

switchup small logo via Switchup

The part-time FEWD Thinkful course promises to make you a skilled web developer and get you hired within 6 months, or less depending on your schedule and how much time you can commit to the program. In my case, they managed to fulfill their promise within only 2 months! I chose Thinkful after doing some research on development courses and bootcamps. It was a great choice for those that are complete beginners to programming and need some guidance. Derek was very welcoming and offered a lot of advice on networking, meet ups, interviews, and jobs. So from the beginning I felt at home at Thinkful. It seemed daunting sometimes, especially after getting through the relatively easy HTML and CSS material. No one is there to hold your hand so there is a lot of self-motivation and dedication required, but there are a lot of resources to turn to apart from the Thinkful material - Slack, Google, stack overflow, other tutorials (codeacademy, treehouse, lynda - are just a few I used). Thinkful also has some fun workshops and Q&A sessions you can get involved with.

And of course their best weapon - your personal mentor. Mine was Jon Oyanguren and I could not have asked for someone better. He offered me everything from excellent instruction to great communication. Although we didn't follow the course material on Thinkful step-by-step (I used it more for reading and reference), it was a much better and carefree approach. He encouraged me to come up with my own projects which made learning much more fun and always managed to be incredibly enthusiastic about it! He was very attentive to all of my questions, worries - even when it wasn't during one of our weekly sessions. He was able to simplify a lot of the material and make it attainable for someone completely new to programming. At the end of the two months, I had a great grasp on HTML, CSS, JS, and Angular. We even started covering some back-end and getting into nodeJS. And of course I got a job out of it and am currently working with an incredible team that is happy to continue teaching me more :)
Overall, I got more than I bargained for so I am happy with my decision of choosing Thinkful as my entry point into the development world.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Nathen

November 1st, 2015

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

My background includes more than two years of QA and Test Automation experience working as a contractor for various companies in northern Colorado. My focus had been to write software that would test against web sites, meant to ensure sites wouldn't break and user experience remained high. My goal with Thinkful's FEWD career path was to help me transition into the development side of things and not remain just a tester.

Success with education is always left up to the student, whether you go to a university or choose Thinkful, it is up to you the student to get what you want out of the experience. If you intend to get a junior or entry-level web developer role then Thinkful's FEWD career path is a great option considering they will show you what web developers go through on a day-by-day basis (yes this includes - using Google, StackOverflow, code reviews, debugging, test-driven development *hopefully*, refactoring).

Every concept you will use as a web developer is taught in this curriculum, so my advice would be to not focus so much on the tools being used but rather the concepts and reasons for using the tools (version control, build processes, testing, design, MVC frameworks). Learn and practice daily even if for only 20 minutes - it adds up over the 4 to 6 months you're in the program.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Kyle

October 28th, 2015

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

The front end career path at Thinkful is exactly what it sounds like: a course intended to help you land a job via tech skills. Thinkful recommends allowing six months to complete the course with a mentor. By explaining to my mentor what I wanted, and by dedicating myself to the course, I landed a job within a month of starting the front end career path!

I currently teach AP programming ,created a "Start Up" course based on tech innovation, and I'm designing the school's computer science curriculum (hello oculus rift programming!). I also have the fun title of Director of Academic Technology, and I am currently helping the school build an innovation building. I get to seek out edtech pitch competitions, go to them, and work with a startups to push the school to frontier.

I was able to shift the course to my needs, interests, and projects. This was critical in the learning process. My mentor was key in helping me succeed. I loved the one-on-one aspect of the course- rather than committing to a physical space and inflexible times. I treated this course like I was designing and attending my own coding bootcamp. If you are a hard worker, and are serious about learning to code, you will. If you depended on others as your driving force, I would not recommend. I like being in charge of my learning, and having a course that adapts to my life and needs, rather than the other way around.

I'm currently working on my own side project of creating a native app (can't spill the beans on it!), and looking at accelerators to fund my own edtech startup. The key is that Thinkful empowered me to enter the tech workforce, and has shown me that I can learn whatever it is I need to do what I want. Thinkful offers a monthly subscription to partake in as many side courses as you like. This is nice, because a little help goes a long way. Plus, the price is right.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Asa Toburen

October 28th, 2015

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

The frontend developer Career Path program created by Thinkful is an excellent program for the aspiring developer. After 6 months working one on one with a professional developer, I was able to land a job almost immediately after completing the program. Thinkful's modern curriculum and professional mentors create a unique and effective learning experience. The Career Path is project-based and each project addresses a different real-world programming challenge. Whenever I hit a wall or had a question, I had immediate access to a professional mentor who would answer my questions and provide valuable feedback on my work. I would recommend this program for anyone who is interested in starting a career in web development.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Anonymous

October 27th, 2015

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

My only regret is not starting this course earlier. I love Thinkful and taking this course has given me the knowledge, skills and portfolio to work as a developer. I still talk to my mentors, refer back to my course curriculum, and hangout in the Slack community. Since I graduated I will be able to pay off the course cost at the end of October - 2 months all with side code projects I've booked in the last few months. It takes a lot of commitment and time, more for total newbies like myself, but it has been worth it. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star reviews star

by Tyler S

September 10th, 2015

Flexible Web Development Bootcamp

coursereport small logo via Course Report

Recently I graduated from the Front End Web Developer Career Path course at Thinkful and I was beyond impressed. With a background in graphic design and animation, and very little experience in web development, I started my journey to land a job as a FEWD.

Getting to meet with a mentor 3 times a week was more than beneficial because it kept me motivated, and when I had a deadline, I was more likely to complete my work.

Many of the reviews have noted that you end up having to google free resources throughout the curriculum. They are not wrong, but at the same time this is part of the Thinkful way of learning. They teach you how to find the information you need and it has helped me tremendously throughout my professional career. I learned how to phrase questions I wanted to ask and sometimes even figure out my issue prior to even asking it.

The Career Path course is comprised of 5 parts:

Front End Web Development
Intermediate Front End Web Development
AngularJS
Elective
Career Services

FEWD – I was able to complete in a few weeks because most of it was review for me, but I did learn a few tips and tricks along the way. This is a great course for someone with no knowledge of HTML/CSS/JS.

Intermediate FEWD – I thoroughly enjoyed this course because I was able to replicate the game "Flappy Bird" with nothing other than javascript and the canvas element. You also learn about task runners, preprocessors, and other useful programs that can speed up your development process.

AngularJS – This was my favorite course because I finally got to dive into Angular. At first I was very confused, but once I started talking with my mentor, he was able to explain and help me solve the problems. I'm currently using Angular at my job on a huge project and I give all credit to my skills to Thinkful.

Career Services – This course was iffy because I didn't get the full experience of it. I landed a job one week into starting it. The mentor I had was very nice, knowledgable, and helped me look at my resume in a way that an HR person would read it.

Overall I enjoyed my experience with Thinkful and definitely recommend this bootcamp to anyone that is looking for a fun, challenging way to learn to code at the speed you choose!

Load 10 more reviews
Talk to an education advisor

Have any questions? Talk to Noel.


Noel Duarte, Education Advisor

If you have questions about pricing, scholarships, financing options, or just general inquiries about how Thinkful works – hit up Noel. He's happy to assist you!

Schedule a call Email Noel
Noel Duarte, Education Advisor
Course recommendation
Based on your goals we recommend
recommended course icon
An education advisor will be in touch to help you get started.
View course